Journalism 4470 Ethics Law and Diversity Review

That being an ethical professional can most of the time be so much harder than taking the easy way out and being unethical. One main takeaway from this class is that our profession presents so many opportunities to be unethical and we just have to do the right thing. Doing the right thing isn’t always the popular opinion either, which is what makes being an ethical professional challenging.

Learning about the different ethical theories was really interesting to me; I find it interesting that so many intelligent people can have so many different views on things. The different theories represent many different ways of thinking through a situation and sometimes picking one over another is best. How people think through the decisions they make has always been an interest of mine and the first part of the semester taught me a lot about that.

One of my favorite parts of the semester was learning about subliminal advertising and hearing about ethics from an advertising point of view. Since I am a PR major and have been hearing about how to be an ethical PR professional it was really interesting to me to see how the other half of strategic communication has to deal with ethical issues.

Case studies will not be missed but they will be used and referred too throughout the beginning of my professional career. As much as I don’t like them and don’t want to admit it, I actually enjoyed researching an issue and finding the rights and wrongs and how that issue came to be with the manner of thinking that caused it. The case study groups I had were amazing and that might have had a lot to do with it as well, I liked having a mix of advertising and PR students because you got so many different and unique views.

Learning about all the things in regards to the law was another part of the semester I really enjoyed. The section on libel and slander really opened my eyes to what can happen when the truth isn’t reported accurately. It has made me very aware that my actions and what I publish or say can really backfire if I don’t get it right the first time. People don’t mess around when it comes to their reputations. The other parts of the law section I liked learning about were the differences between trademarks and copyrights; I honestly used to use those words interchangeably. Learning about all of these things in school makes me feel like I am ready for the real world with all of the real consequences that could potentially happen from a bad decision. I think I’ll be okay in that department however.

Being in this class has really been an amazing learning experience for me. When I first found out I had to take ethics I was a little scared and thought it would probably be the most boring class ever but learning about these things isn’t boring when you use real life examples and case studies to bring the concepts to life. I really enjoyed the different case study presentations as well, who knew that so many people have made such bad decisions before! I always thought to myself through every presentation, “what the hell were they thinking?” hopefully no one ever says that about me in any ethics class in the future.

This class has inspired me to live out my professional career in the most ethical and rule abiding way possible. I’m very glad to have had this class offered/forced on me in my last semester of college because this stuff really is important.

Leave a Reply

